Precious Blood

Posted: September 15, 2012 in Uncategorized

I had a blood transfusion this last week (Tue, 11 Sep). I was lying there in my hospital bed for 8 hrs., looking at the precious, life-giving blood. The deep crimson colour of the blood was beautiful, dripping ever so slowly into my veins. Blood given by another… so that I can be saved and have a chance of life. It happens every day I’m sure, but this precious blood was for me.

Bag 1 of 2. Sarah-Jayne giving moral support

Red blood cells are the most common type of cell in the body and are responsible for carrying oxygen around the body. 2.4mil new cells are produced every second by the bone marrow and they live for about 120 days. A quarter of the cells in our body are red blood cells. My red blood count was down to 6.8 vs. the normal of above 14.5. My bone marrow was killed by the chemo and then again restored by the stem cell transplant, but the stem cells are struggling to make enough cells to sustain me. My doctor said that the red blood cells are the last to go down because they have the longest life of all the critical cells. My body was tired and I was short of breath due to the lack of oxygen to all parts of my body.

As I was lying there, I thought of someone else’s blood that was given for me. The blood of the ultimate sacrifice – Jesus Christ! Throughout the Old Testament we read about the sacrifices made by the Israelites to atone for the sins of the people. Only the high priests made the sacrifices and only they could enter into God’s presence. At the first Passover, the Israelites were saved when they killed a perfect lamb and painted the blood of the lamb on their door posts. The lamb’s blood had to flow so that the Israelites could be set free from slavery and enter into the promised land. The ultimate sacrifice came when God sent His own Son, Jesus Christ, to die on the cross. To shed his life so that all our sins can be forgiven. Jesus was referred to in the Bible as the Lamb of God, and indeed this “perfect lamb’s” blood had to flow so that we could be set free from sin and enter into relationship with God! “The next day he saw Jesus coming toward him, and said, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world! – John 1:29. No more sacrifices need to be made but we just need to accept the blood of Jesus that gives us life: the blood that washes away our sins and makes our lives whiter than snow. “Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. – Psalm 51:7. Jesus took on the sin of the world upon the cross because of His love for us. “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16.

Thank you to the person who gave blood so that I could live here on earth but even more so, thank you God for giving me the blood of your Son so that I will not perish but have everlasting life. There is a song that Carmen sings – “This blood is for you”. It is worth watching and was put to scenes from the movie ‘Passion of Christ’ (not for the faint hearted…) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u07ekuy_T6s. Jesus’ blood was given for me. His blood was given for you!

 

Leave a comment