How God has answered our prayers

Posted: August 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

“Is anyone among you suffering? Let him pray. Is anyone cheerful? Let him sing praise. Is anyone among you sick? Let him call for the elders of the church, and let them pray over him, anointing him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer of faith will save the one who is sick, and the Lord will raise him up. And if he has committed sins, he will be forgiven. Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working” – James 5:13-18

It is day 14 and my blood counts are low but starting to climb. No infection yet and my kidney is doing better now than before the chemo started. My Doctor is also amazed by how well it has gone. But why are we so surprised…. We prayed that God would keep me from infection and protect my kidney and what an amazing answer to prayer it has been. When we look back on the journey there have been so many times that we cried out to the Lord for his mercy, for his healing, for his provision and for his protection and He has so miraculously answered so many of our prayers. “For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer” – 1 Peter 3:12 

David with Elrina on day 14

A friend, who works here in the hospital, came by to see how I am doing and she prayed for me before leaving. My dad’s prayer group prayed for on Wednesday morning when they met. My family and many friends are praying daily for me. My cell group and my church have fasted and prayed for me. Colleagues at work have been praying. Even strangers whom we don’t know have been crying out to the Lord for my life, for healing and for his presence to surround me and to comfort me. I have been so humbled and amazed by the number of people whom have been raised up as an army of prayer warriors, interceding for me and my family before the Lord our God.

I am convinced that one of the purposes of trials and tribulations are for people to care for and love one another and to bring people to their knees for things that really matter in life. We are told to pray without ceasing (1 Thessalonians 5:17) but somehow when there are life and death issues at stake our prayer fervency seems to be raised a few notches. I remember when our youngest daughter, Sarah-Jayne, was diagnosed with Intussusception (the intestine is folded back on itself).  She could have died. I lay awake the whole night praying and pleading to the Lord for her life and her healing. My level of prayer was raised by multiple notches in those few critical days. Praise the Lord she was healed and has suffered no visible side effects.  The scar on her tummy reminds me of what the Lord has done and how he drew me deeper into relationship with him, as I spoke and wrestled with the Lord. The same is true with my cancer. The nights that Sam and I, and so many of our family and friends, have prayed and fasted and wept before the Lord are numerous, and we have seen God answer so many of our prayers. Some instantly, others over a long period of time and still others are unanswered. We still trust the Lord for my full healing and have, together with thousands of people (literally), been pleading for my life before the Lord.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”– Philippians 4:6-7

Let us pray

What a privilege to be able to come to my Almighty God, the creator of heaven and earth, King of Kings and Lord of Lords and lay my requests and concerns before His throne of grace, handing them over in faith and hope to the Lord. What an encouragement when we see prayer answered, sometimes in ways that we did not even ask for, but all to God’s glory. As Christians we can know that God will answer our prayers. I will keep praying and the desire of my heart is to maintain the prayer fervency even when things are going well again. Thank you to all who have been and are still praying for me, Sam and the kids. We are truly grateful!

I love the quote from Soren Kierkegaard. “Prayer doesn’t change God; it changes the one who prays.”

Comments
  1. Murray says:

    Amazing testimony Dave. Your bravery through God’s power is marvelous. We pray for your complete healing

  2. Praise the Lord! He is Good, All The Time!

  3. Hi David, I know that the Lord has plan an purpose for your life, and that He still wants to do so much through you! Praise Him, for your progress and recovery!

    Just reading through Ps 91, which I’m sure you have read many times, reminds me that he will deliver your from the snare. “He will cover you with His pinions, and under His wings shall you trust and find refuge; His truth and His faithfulness are a shield and a buckler”, “He will give His angels [especial] charge over you to accompany and defend and preserve you in all your ways”

    Rom 8 – “38 For I am persuaded beyond doubt (am sure) that neither death nor life, nor angels nor principalities, nor things impending and threatening nor things to come, nor powers,
    39 Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God which is in Christ Jesus our Lord!”

    • thanks Charl. God has protected me thus far and there is no doubting his protection. What an encouragement to know that there is nothing that can seperate us from Christ Jesus our Lord – not even death.

Leave a comment